August 31, 2022
Dana Levin to Judge 2023 APR/Honickman First Book Prize

The prize of $3,000, with an introduction by the judge and distribution of the winning book by Copper Canyon Press through Consortium, will be awarded in 2023 with publication of the book in the same year. The author will receive a standard book publishing contract, with royalties paid in addition to the $3,000 prize. This year's final judge will be Dana Levin.


Dana Levin’s new book of poetry is Now Do You Know Where You Are (Copper Canyon Press, 2022), a Lannan Literary Selection. Her first book, In the Surgical Theatre, was chosen by Louise Glück for the 1999 American Poetry Review/Honickman First Book Prize and went on to receive numerous honors, including the 2003 PEN/Osterweil Award. Copper Canyon Press brought out her second book, Wedding Day, in 2005, and in 2011 Sky Burial, which The New Yorker called “utterly her own and utterly riveting.” Sky Burial was noted for 2011 year-end honors by The New Yorker, the San Francisco Chronicle, Coldfront, and Library Journal. Her fourth book, Banana Palace, was a finalist for the Rilke Prize.


The prize is open to poets who have not published a book-length collection of poems with a registered ISBN. Poems previously published in magazines, online, or in limited edition chapbooks may be included in the manuscript, but the manuscript itself must not have been published as a book-length work exceeding 25 pages. Translations are not eligible nor are works written by multiple authors. APR complies with the CLMP Code of Ethics in the administration of this contest. The judge will select a manuscript in an anonymous review process and will not award the prize to any writer whose personal relationship to the judge poses a conflict of interest.

To be considered for the prize, submit a manuscript of 48 pages or more, paginated, with a table of contents, acknowledgments, and a $25 entry fee, checks made payable to The American Poetry Review.

• Manuscripts must be received by the new deadline of October 1, 2022. The winning author and all other entrants will be notified by January 15, 2023.
• You may simultaneously submit your manuscript elsewhere, but please notify us immediately if it is accepted for publication. Submission of more than one manuscript is permissible; each must be under separate cover with a fee.
• The winning author will have time to revise the manuscript after acceptance, but please send no revisions during the reading period.

Send submissions to: APR/ Honickman First Book Prize, 1906 Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia PA 19103 or online here. 



  • Dana Levin