• Joseph Ceravolo
Joseph Ceravalo

Joseph Ceravalo's 1968 collection, Spring in This World of Poor Mutts, was published by Columbia University Press and won the first Frank O’Hara Award for poetry—“intended to encourage the writing of good new experimental poetry.” His other publications include Fits of Dawn, published in 1965 by close friend Ted Berrigan’s C Press; The Green Lake Is Awake (1994), with poems selected by Larry Fagin, Kenneth Koch, Charles North, Ron Padgett, David Shapiro, and Paul Violi; INRI, (1979); Millennium Dust (1982), which includes poems later anthologized in The Poets of the New York SchoolTransmigration Solo (1979); and Wild Flowers Out of Gas (1967).

Ceravolo died in 1988 at age 54. 
Work by Joseph Ceravalo
Volume Issue 04 / July/August